Re-starting Blog

Tomorrow, we begin this year’s jaunt south. This will not be a journey like last year, and I had decided not to blog. We are leaving southern Ontario tomorrow morning and hope to be in Guanajuato within a week. We’ll be motoring pretty directly, not stopping to explore, not expecting to be wowed by the landscape or–we hope–the weather.

So what changed my mind? Several things.

First, enough people have asked me about it that I began to think that I might have–well–a following. This year, for the first time, we’ll be spending the Christmas season there. We’ll also be in the midst of a construction project, adding some additional space to our house. So there will be some new experiences to share.

Second, I am in the process of trying to re-invent myself as a writer. Blogging is a way of forcing words and ideas from my head to my fingertips. It’s also a stimulus to look for shape and meaning in what’s going on around me.

Finally, I’d like to see if, by applying a more writerly eye to my life in Mexico, I might come to a deeper understanding of that place, how I fit into it, and how I feel about splitting my life between two homes, two communities, two countries.

For the moment, I’ll just add posts to last year’s blog while I try to figure out if I can change the title.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Re-starting Blog

  1. Molly Wood Dunning says:

    Hey Paula… so glad you’ve turned the keystrokes back on to share! And please know, if you’re in need of a place to layover in Minneapolis, you are always welcome! Come late, stay short, whatever. We’ve got the room and would love to see you!

  2. Onni and Ulla Juhala says:

    ! Qué bueno Paula ! I – we whole heartedly agree with Molly from Minneapolis. For us who are not making the annual trip to a foreign land, your blogs are an insight to events and happenings that we would never come to know. We all thank you for taking the time and effort to share those moments with us. Onni and Ulla Juhala in SSM (Sault Ste Marie)
    Ps. No olvida a escribir un poco Español de vez en cuando

  3. nonna3js says:

    So happy you decided to do this. I loved following your last blog and look forward to hearing about your experiences.

    Rose

  4. Lynn Campbell says:

    Paula… I heartily concur with the above comments, and look forward to your impressions, insights and ease with which the written word come to you. Wishing you and Jack a good trip.

Leave a Reply

